Handmade Music Clubhouse

Cigar Box Guitar Headquarters - CBG HQ

I'm new here, and I'm new at trying to build a Cigar Box Guitar.....I was wondering how many folks use their own material to build their boxes with, instead of using a CIgar Box....I was thinking of using some Baltic Birch plywood......just wondering about that before I get started.....I have a couple of CB's but they're pretty small and not deep enough...Thanks..........this site is outstanding........

Views: 154

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

You could build your own box if you wanted to, in my opinion, the critical piece would be the lid, or the piece you attach the neck to. You want to make sure it is the right thickness so that it resonates and makes the best sound. The advantage to building your own is that you have complete control over the size of it.
Thanks for your reply......the baltic birch I have right now is 1/8 thick.....do u think that would work ok for the entire box if braced good.....the wood seems pretty sturdy to me........

Iggy said:
You could build your own box if you wanted to, in my opinion, the critical piece would be the lid, or the piece you attach the neck to. You want to make sure it is the right thickness so that it resonates and makes the best sound. The advantage to building your own is that you have complete control over the size of it.
Hi Dane, that birch should work well but I would brace the corners and edges. Lots of folks build their own boxes, some instruments aren't square. What are you thinking about for the neck and how many strings? Acoustic or electric?
Hi, yes for sure 1/8 " would work great for the box. All the way around. Light weight wood for bracing. Its not just the sound board that gives it volume and tone. Its the complete body and neck.